A Story about Finding God on the Streets of Disney Life – Part 2

If you missed out on the first part of this story, you can see my previous blog post here: http://wp.me/p2eERS-1q

So, the question is, why spend my time writing not just one, but two entire posts about seeing that girl at Disney California Adventure who had, as my friend puts it, a “winsome-gaze-as-though-looking-for-a-prince” while singing along to Disney film clips? And another question is, don’t you have better things to do with your time?

Well, the answer to the latter question is that today is my regular Friday off work, and I already went to Mass to receive Jesus in Word and Sacrament…so no, I don’t really 😛

The answer to the former question (the more important one, duh) is this: after spending time reliving the experience in my imagination, and meditating on it, and talking it over with God, here’s what I ended up with: “How lovely is your dwelling place, O Lord of Hosts!” (Psalm 84)

The fact is, I don’t really remember what she looked like anymore: her physical features, what she was wearing…I honestly don’t remember most of it, except that she was average height with dark hair, and I thought at first glance that she was kinda cute. But though my physical eyes barely noticed her that first time, the Eyes of my Heart, once opened that second time, was instantly drawn to something much deeper: a window into her inner being that showed her inner Beauty!

Classical philosophers Plato and Aristotle, and one of my favorite saints of the Middle Ages, St. Thomas Aquinas, all agreed that the Trancendentals, Goodness, Truth, and Beauty, are all infinite in nature, and that man naturally desires all three. These infinities, Christian theology declares, are God himself. If a hardened atheist were to actively pursue just one of these three, that pursuit would eventually lead him (or her) to the Maker.

Quite sadly though, contemporary culture has lost its appreciation of the Trancendentals and has cut them way short of their objective infinite natures: namely, that Goodness is subjective (what’s immoral to you is good to me), Truth is relative (if I don’t think it’s true, then it’s not), and Beauty is reduced to a simple expression of self and personal taste (don’t judge, just because you don’t like it doesn’t mean it’s not attractive).

On a less philosophical level, in our fallen world, the relationship between men and women has likewise been cut short of its full meaning by mainstream culture and media: we are bombarded with an obsession with physical appearance and sex. As evidence, I present the song “Sexy and I Know It” by LMFAO: is it a satire? Possibly? Well…if you think about it…maybe?…it’s probably a toss-up. Now don’t misunderstand: our bodies and sex are gifts from God, and even more than that, in the right context, actually reveal to us an even deeper knowledge of God himself…no, really, I kid you not! Even more amazing: the Church actually teaches this! *GASP* You want proof? Try reading up on works regarding Blessed Pope John Paul II’s Theology of the Body.

I could go on and on about this, but the point I want to make is this: what the culture has done is try to separate our bodies and the physical realities of sex from the fullness of our humanity, from the connections to our inner-most being of our hearts, minds, and souls…and from God himself, who created all this, and created all of it good, in the first place! This has caused so much harm to men and women and how we relate to each other…and some of us don’t even know it. 😦 One of the worst parts of this is that it has damaged both men and women’s ability to recognize the fullness and infiniteness that is Beauty. As tempted as I am to keep going on this track, I will save this for another time.

Back to the story: what I encountered in that moment, when I truly saw that girl, was a glimpse into the Beauty held within her heart, mind, and soul; a Beauty far beyond the physical “sexiness” prized by this culture; a Beauty of her own unique self; a Beauty that radiated from the inside out…a Beauty that revealed the Creator himself because Beauty is the Creator himself. As St. Paul tells us in 1 Corinthians 6:19 “Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God, and you are not your own?” I think the answer is that we forget this a lot, and even more so, we forget that other people are temples of the Holy Spirit also.

Eventually (inevitably?) I made the blunder of pointing her out to my friend, which resulted in her continually encouraging (pestering?) me to talk to her, as well as several “match-making” inside jokes, which are still on-going. 😛 According to said friend, that girl actually passed by me outside of the Animation Building without me noticing and, paraphrasing my friend, “looked at you for a good 2 seconds with a slight lingering gaze of interest…perhaps longing? *wink wink, nudge nudge*” 😉

And no, I never did try to talk to her: what does one say in a moment of being overwhelmed by Beauty? Odds are that I’ll never run into her again in this life, but if we both make it up to heaven one day (in my case, I’ve got a long ways to go!), I would tell her this: Thank you for unknowingly sharing a tiny bit of your Beauty with me that day, because just by being you, you revealed God to me. And…you gave me enough to write two entire blog posts 😉 (hey, being dead is no excuse for losing my sense of humor!)

And to my Heavenly Father (and yours!), “How lovely is your dwelling place, O Lord of Hosts!” AMEN!

4 thoughts on “A Story about Finding God on the Streets of Disney Life – Part 2

Leave a Reply

